My life…

Posted: January 27, 2010 in Life
Tags: , ,

I rarely watch MTV these days.  When I was growing up I’d watch music videos(back when they actually played them) and ventured into watching Daria when it started airing.  That show was wonderful and I related to it a lot and the kids in my high school noticed the resemblance between her and myself (both in attitude and overall being).  I never had a Jane in my life, both of my sisters were some form of Quinn, and, well, that’s where the similarity in my life ended.  I could still pull off a Daria costume if I wanted to and I have seriously debated doing it for Halloween but that time of year in Northern Illinois is cold….and I rarely wear skirts anyway.

Yesterday I was flipping through the channels trying to find something to watch before I started studying for my last bout of tests.  I came across this new show on MTV called My Life as Liz.  I took a look at the girl and was like, ‘Hm, this could be interesting.’  So I got comfy and began to watch it.  Within five minutes I was disappointed.  Part of me was hoping for a TV show that was possibly reminiscent of My So-Called Life or something along those lines but what I found was another one of those ‘reality’ shows like The Hills.  It was like watching a train wreck as I tried to get things cleared up on the third episode.  I watched the entire thing, was a little annoyed so I did some online searches to find out what the hell this was about (besides the whole anti-conformist teenager crap).

This show tries too hard to be cool and present their characters as real.  In high school I was one of those ‘freaks’ and was into the whole anti-conformist, damn the man type deal.  So when I was watching this show I was annoyed about how they were portraying things and especially how they portrayed Liz’s circle of nerdy friends.  I know this show is catering to stereotypes and all of that but it gets rather annoying.  I do think Liz is a cute character but the over the top drama and need to be an individual taints the image of her.  Seriously, here is her little ‘bio’ on the official site:

“During her massive amount of free time, Liz often finds herself mixing up a fresh batch of mix CDs with the latest and greatest indie songs. When she’s not jamming out to tunes in her hand me down, not by choice, non-green, gas guzzling Blazer, she is often face planted in front of a classic comic book, or trying to invent new ways to insult the blond conformists who populate her high school. She has a pet snake and is a vegan, and has lost track of the number of colors she has dyed her hair. Liz is proud to be a nerd, and hopes one day to get out of “the suck”, ie: Burleson, TX.”

The whole indie thing bothered me but I knew a few kids in high school that were in love with the indie scene, so that’s okay but they’re trying too hard to present her as an indie rocker.  As for the whole finding new ways to insult the blonds, well I suppose that could work and seeing how she supposedly used to be part of the blonds I can see the vendetta against them.  Though one would think that taking them down would be easy since she used to be one but I guess that isn’t always so.  I can understand losing track of the colors she dyed her hair because I don’t remember mine(the only one I do remember is purple because I waited a YEAR to do it) but it’s the nerd thing that irked me.  They show the current nerd stereotype of her male buddies (going off to LARP, loving Lord of the Rings, digging the comic book scene, over weight, etc) and put her with them as the lone female nerd that could possibly rally against the stereotype and blah, blah, blah.  Yes there are those types of nerd out there but if someone looked at me and nerdy friends, well, we wouldn’t seem like nerds(Grendal is 6’2″, physically fit, into martial arts and sports, and essentially a wall of a man as a friend puts it).  And another thing…..Liz is supposed to be vegan but she’s snacking on McD’s stuff?  I highly doubt that the shake and fries she had were vegan friendly.

All in all the show will be enjoyed by the MTV generation at large, Liz will be idolized by possible ‘nerdy’ girls, and MTV will continue to produce bad ‘reality’ shows.  Hey, they just want to make money and people want to watch something they find entertaining.  More power to ’em, right?

For me, I’ll stick with Bones and Psych for today….and I’ll keep my distance from MTV.

Leave a Reply

