LOL, wut?

Posted: February 13, 2010 in Gaming, Life
Tags: , , ,

I was looking through the recent Game Informer, sifting through the crap I don’t care about and the stuff that seems interesting and I came across their little calendar for the month of March.  I just kinda glanced over things, giggled at the yellow Elite, and then I noticed they had an image from Clash of the Titans.  Me being the nerdling that I am wanted to see what they had to say about it.  This what they put out:

Hollywood once again rips off a video games idea.  Today’s release[March 26], Clash of the Titans, is basically God of War: The Movie.  Hydra? Seen it.  Minotaur? Boring.  The movie even steals locations, like Athens and Hades, straight from the game.  Shameless.  Just shameless.”

My jaw dropped when I read that.  Now, I want to give these guys the benefit of the doubt.  I mean, come on!  Everyone knows that Clash of the Titans is a remake of the ’81 film of the same name….right?  With the leaps and bounds we’ve made in technology since ’81 and with popular media the way it is(there is nothing original anymore), it’s no surprise that there would be similarities with something else.  It irritates me that the person/people claim Clash is a ripoff of GoW, mainly because GoW isn’t too original in and of itself.  Don’t get me wrong, I love the hack n’ slash game and the fact that they put in some classic mythology but by the second game it was old news and they could’ve done better.  True, they added a bit of the Zesus myth not many people know about(the fact that history would repeat itself, and the son would kill the father[Zesus destroyed Cronus and Zesus’ son would kill him]) so things aren’t all that bad…..just wish someone would include some of the primordial deities.  I mean they introduced the Moirae, which opens up everything to the likes of Nyx and so many more.  Meh, that’s beside the point.

So, all in all I HIGHLY doubt Clash of the Titans is ripping of God of War.  If anything they would’ve taken things from 300, Gladiator, and what not.  I’m seeing the movie no matter what, because the original kicked ass when I was a kid and Liam Neeson as Zesus?  What can be better then that?  😀

Leave a Reply

