Missed My Chance

Posted: March 3, 2010 in Gaming, Life
Tags: ,

(yeah, 2 posts in 1 day)

I’m a big Alice in Wonderland fan.  I love Lewis Carrol’s work and loved both of his Alice stories.  I’ve gone as far as getting the Cheshire Cat tattooed on my leg and I plan on having Alice added at some point.  I loved the books Looking Glass War and Seeing Redd by Frank Beddor.  Above all else, I loved American McGee’s Alice.  I’ve cosplayed as the character multiple times, bought the game twice(after one broke), and, at one point, was working on the novelization of the game.  As odd as it sounds, I truely was.  I was still in high school at the time and I what started out as a fanfic idea turned into something much bigger.  I was going through the game, writing down notes and getting the dialogue word for word.  Once I finished the first chapter I took a wild leap of faith…..I email it to American McGee himself.  Looking back on it I don’t know how I could have been so gutsy!  Within the week he replied and said he enjoyed it but, unfortunately, he didn’t own the rights to the game, EA did.  He told me to try and get in contact with them and see what I could do, and I did.  I emailed them with the inquiry and received a phone call a week later from the head of some department.  The woman told me that if I wanted to write the story I’d have to pay them $10k and than find the publisher myself.  Needless to say, it never happened and the story remains unfinished.

I had that small window of a chance and it never happened.  While it is heartbreaking to me, I was just over joyed that American McGee read the chapter and said he enjoyed it….it made a fangirl’s life!

Leave a Reply

