The True Goddess of Metempsychosis

Posted: March 22, 2010 in Gaming
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I love that title!  In it’s original language it would be more like 真・女神転生 or Shin Megami Tensei.  It’s a series of games put out by Atlus and then Atlus USA for us Americans.  I’m a fan of what Atlus has released, and have only recently found a game of theirs that I don’t like: Demon Souls….but that’s not what I’m here to talk about.

The MegaTen series is something that I’ve been collecting for a few years now.  More so the recent works than the originals since they’re not only hard to find but pricey if you can find one in good condition and face it, I’m a poor college student.  😦  But yes!  I have a few of the games from the MegaTen universe and these games are ones that I viciously protect.  I’m usually more than happy to lend games out to friends but not these.  The few times another person has played the game I’ve been playing with them.  I know it sounds over protective but I love these games and, well, the two of us were playing the game together. lol.

The first game of the MegaTen series that I bought was Shin Megami Tensei III: Nocturne. Now, my memory isn’t too good so I’m not sure the year I bought it but I think it was around it’s release year and I bought it used.  There were two reasons why I picked up the game:  the description on the back sounded awesome and, well, the cover art kicked ass!  I didn’t play the game, though; it just sat with the others.

A while later I picked up the first game of Digital Devil Saga.  I don’t know if I recognized the art style or not but I bought the game, again, because of the art and description.  This one, though, I began to play when I got home and I was amazed.  I went back and started playing Nocturne and I was floored by the story and the themes.  This was the type of game that I enjoyed.

I tracked down the second game for Digital Devil Saga the moment I found it and while I was purchasing it the cashier actually offered to buy that game and the first one from me…..I obviously declined.

After that I began to keep my eye out for any new releases.  I own both of the newer Devil Summoner games: Raidou Kuzunoha vs. The Soulless Army and Raidou Kuzunoha vs. King Abaddon.  I also have some of the Persona series.  Persona 3, Persona 3 FES, Persona 4, Persona(for the PSP), and I will be purchasing Persona 3 Portable.

So, the count of my MegaTen games comes out to 9.  I’m proud of it and would love to discus the games with fellow fans, but none of my friends really play them, save for Persona 3 and 4….but I would prefer talking about the others as well.

Some people have their Final Fantasy kicks, me?  I prefer my battles with demons and stories that run deep!

Leave a Reply

