A Fresh Start

Posted: April 27, 2010 in DnD
Tags: ,

Like I said the other day, the campaign I was just in ended which means another one is going to be started up.  Just about all of us have some form of an idea of a game, though it seems like Grendal, Drist, and myself are the only ones with viable games.  Drist and I both come up with some kick ass ideas, though we’re shaky on making them happen with Drist being the better out of the two of us.  Seriously, he ran a Delta Green game that I just adored!  Grendal is our group’s master DM, if that makes any sense.  He can come up with great stories and he runs them in ways that keep us hooked.

I actually have 3 different ideas, though I’m not sure if any of them will interest the group.  One is based on the Oriental Campaign style, focusing on some Japanese myths to provide stories.  This one would be done in chapters and spaced out over time if need be.  Another one has to do with a kidnapping and a Lich, in a whole ‘things aren’t as they seem’ type deal.  The third one is the more recent one out of the bunch but it’s interesting me more than the others.  It deals with the Norse and Greek/Roman pantheons being in the same world and working in tandem.  There is a prophecy that they will be destroyed and they resign themselves to their fate, save for a deity from each side.  Thus our players are ensnared by oracles, visions, etc. to try and save their Gods and their world.

More and more I’m noticing that I’ve taken a more serious and reality based turn to my characters and story ideas.  I love the idea of the Gods coming in to play and having characters with interesting bits to them.  Kanaloa, my half-aquatic elf, was missing an eye.  It provided a great story for her, made her memorable, and gave her a certain something that I loved.  Xyrygosa really didn’t have a physical part that provided the interesting story but it was the fact that she was a driven military person and very much into that and her family.  Now I’m working on a new character idea that I believe will only work to it’s full potential if Grendal is running the game.  It is a one armed human male, probably an ex-knight, a paladin, or a cavalier(from Pathfinder).  Though he is out of his original line of work, he is an arms instructor for new recruits.  He’s a widower and has a daughter who now has a family of her own.  This will be my first ‘manly’ man and my first character that is older than 25.  One thing I’ve noticed is that everyone I’ve met plays characters who are in their late teens to mid twenties, or equivalent.  There has only been one instance when that was different and that was during our Delta Green campaign.  So I’ve decided to leave my comfort zone and go for the older character and the manly man. 😀

If I flesh him out more and have the chance to play him, I might even post his back story. 😉

Leave a Reply

