Two Places at Once

Posted: May 6, 2010 in DnD, Life
Tags: , , , , , ,

The idea behind my ‘gods game’ was actually inspired by a story I’ve been poking around for the past year, which in turn was inspired by a book called Firebrand, and a show on the History Channel about ancient civilizations being influenced by extraterrestrial beings.  The book is about the Trojan War told from the perspective of Kassandra, the twin sister of Paris and a prophet.  I liked the idea of Gods at war with each other and people channeling those gods and what not.  So I started writing a story and it’s still just a simple idea.  Then with the opportunity to start a game I threw out the idea and the group liked it.  Grendal is the only one that know the basic out come of the game(though I’m fleshing it out more and more): The deities are ‘aliens’ who have been mistaken for gods.  The Asgards and the Roman gods were at war for superiority before they came to a truce.  Now a new threat has arrived and I’ve decided to make them a mixture of Indian/Japanese deities.  🙂

That’s it for now.  A better explanation will come later, once I’ve gotten things sorted out.

Comments
  1. Spring says:

    You know, before my boyfriend started our game (I’m doing my whole first D&D thing with him now), I didn’t even know people could make up their own stuff. He also uses his own world, which I love, love, love. Maybe it’s the creative writing major rearing her head, but I love seeing what other people come up with, story-wise. And your story idea here sounds interesting. I really like it. Has the game started? Will you be posting any synopses of your games? Or am I the only one crazy to transcribe her game sessions in her blog? lol

    Sorry for the questions, I’m just curious to see what’s going to happen in your game now! 🙂

    • chibivega says:

      Actually my ‘save the princess’ type game is starting this weekend and I do plan on giving a rough play by play after the fact, along with my own little musings/gripes about my players. My boyfriend, Grendal, is our usual Dungeon Master and the game we just finished was going to be a great one, but then we all had to die.

      As for my second game, which will be the BIG one, I’ll be posting that info within a week or two. My group is excited because the first game we played together was also my first time running a D&D game, and the story ended up lasting roughly a year before the group got back home (It was an odd parallel universe hop in an attempt to save the world. My favorite part of the whole thing was an NPC baby red dragon the group adopted). This big game is looking to be another long one, unless the players just plow through it all.

      But yes! I will be posting info about the sessions and more stuff about the game. I’m a lover of creative writing myself so I know where you’re coming from. 😉

Leave a Reply

