AWake

Posted: May 20, 2010 in Gaming
Tags: , , , , ,

If you haven’t figured this out yet, I love video games especially the ‘scary’ ones.  I have the first 3 Fatal Frames, Silent Hill 1-Homecoming, Kuon, Haunting Ground, Clock Tower 3, Rule of Rose, Deadly Premonition, F.E.A.R 2, and the recently released Alan Wake (I don’t think I forgot any of the games I own).  I can probably thank my parents for the fact that I love scary movies and books.  More particularly my mother and her love of Stephen King.

But yes, I bought Alan Wake and played through a little bit of it last night.  That’s one of things that I HAVE to do: play scary games at night, with the lights off.  I love the ambiance.  Grendal loves to freak me out when I play these games and last night he did a great job.

I was at the end of the ‘Nightmare’ sequence and Grendal was like, “Hey? Guess what?” and he flips off the lights.  At the same time the screen goes black and there is a soft voice that whispers, “He’s here.  Alan, wake up.”  Needless to say, it freaked me out.  Grendal and I started cracking up.  There was seriously no way he knew about that part of the game and I highly doubt he could’ve planned it just right.  He loved it as much as I did.

Yeah, the game is great so far though I’m not all that far into it. 🙂  More tonight though.

Comments
  1. 8-bit Emma says:

    Hi. Found your blog from Spring’s Homewbrew post. 🙂

    I’ve been wondering about the Alan Wake game. I really enjoyed the Fatal Frame series and Silent Hill, so maybe I should check it out! Although I have to admit I end up playing games like that during the day. lol.

    • chibivega says:

      Alan Wake is worth a play! It’s not too spooky but it has it’s moments. If you like Stephen King type stuff you’ll like this….I’ve also heard that it was inspired by a TV show called Twin Peaks, so if you know about that it can give you something to go on. The story is great and it has many ‘wtf’ moments, in my opinion. If it wasn’t for Grendal, though, I would have played it during the day as well; I freak myself out way too easily.

Leave a Reply

