Alan Wake

Posted: May 27, 2010 in Gaming
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I will admit that when I first heard about Alan Wake and saw him, I wasn’t too impressed and was planning on leaving the game alone.  At some point I read a comment about the game seeming like it was inspired by Silent Hill.  Being a fan of that series I took interest and, honestly, I decided right then and there that I wanted to play it.  My decision to buy the game came a little later when I heard that it’s a horror style game inspired by some work by Stephen King and the show Twin Peaks.  This game sounded like it was right up my ally and I didn’t even know the story behind it just yet.

With out going into too much detail about the story I must say that this game is one of my favorites by far.  There isn’t an excess amount of sex or violence which give it a T rating, and one of the rare games in my collection under an M rating.  Most people were nervous about that; a game with a T rating couldn’t be good.  I didn’t pay attention to the moaning about ratings and just waited patiently.

It took me about a week to get through the game, due to the fact that I was balancing school work and that I was playing the game at night.  It is a quick play but the story would have been ruined and maybe even lost if the game had been lengthened.  The game managed to carry me away, which is a plus in my book, and I got wrapped up into the twists and turns rather quickly.  There were so many questions I had, some still haven’t been answered but there is DLC in the future.

The battle system worked wonderfully and helped set the mood and feel of urgency.  The music at the end of every episode really brought it together.  Above all else, though, I will admit that stripping away the gameplay and looking at the story by itself…..is worth it.  If all I had was the book I could see myself toting it around and going on about it to my friends, debating about the possibility of movie doing it justice.  For me this game is made that much better by the story, and that is something I look for in many of my games.

While there doesn’t seem to be too much replay value, I can see true fans of this game coming back to it just to relive the story and I would suggest renting this if you have the chance.  I know this take on a review is vague but I really didn’t want to talk and speculate about the story right now.  While I’m not sure how many people read my blog, I have a feeling that someone might not be at that critical point yet.  Though I will say that I am gung-ho about talking about it, if anyone decides they want to chat me up.  Believe me, I can go on about this.

Overall scoring: 9/10

Leave a Reply

